Harvest by Hillary

Blogging about my journey to living a more sustainable and organic life

First Day at Work!

Leave a comment

Yesterday was my first time on the job for my summer garden internship. We needed to get some basic set-up work done before the end of the semester so when we come back in late May the garden is ready to be worked in!

Basically what my partner, boses, and myself did was take care of the huge leaf pile in the middle of the garden by moving it onto the garlic, zucchini, and tomato beds on the hill. We placed piles of leaves along the beds so the weeds underneath would die. Later, all we will have to worry about will be tilling it all into the soil.

Image

This is a picture of the garden from yesterday, May 6, 2013. That huge pile of leaves is now completely gone! As you can see the garden is still in its early stages of development, but come summer I am confident me and Emma (my partner) will be able to make it beautiful and booming with plants.

We also loosened the fence and mowed underneath the fence, so now the garden’s perimeter is looking good. Jen and Todd (my bosses) showed me and my partner how the irrigation system works, which will be very important come time to plant and water.

I have been trying to think of different plants I would like to plant and while I have not done my research, I think cucumbers, asparagus, brussel sprouts, and beets would be pretty cool additions to the garden. I have been trying to read as much as I can about crop spacing and the basics of gardening, so I am not completely clueless when I come back on May 28th.

Overall, it was nice to begin work and see what my days in the garden are going to feel like. I am so excited to start later this month I can’t wait to come back to campus and get started!

Hillary

Leave a Reply

